Importing ZX Spectrum games onto iPad/iPhone.

After yesterdays fun with loading ZX Spectrum games via an iPhone onto a real ZX Spectrum computer I’ve been having lots of fun playing around with the old classics again and long for something a little more portable. What would be fun is getting some of these retro Spectrum games running on my iPad via an emulator.

Apple doesn’t have nearly the huge library of open emulator apps like Android based tablets & Phones therefore it makes things very difficult to import your own games without Jailbreaking – which isn’t something i want to do.  Of the emulators I looked at, most are pre bundled with a few games that don’t really generate much excitement. There’s a few lesser known games & homebrew games that play quite well but I want to play the classics like Manic Miner, Exolon & Target Renegade. I didn’t think it was possible on the iPad but thanks to the power of the Google gods and a bit of experimentation, I’ve managed to get them working.

Here’s how i did it (..although I still have a few tweaks to complete to get it perfect).

Firstly, you’ll need the ZX emulator called ZX Spectaculator. You can get this from the Apple app store for £1.49 although you might like to try out the free Lite version first (I couldn’t the Lite version to work with my own games though).

ZX Spectaculator running in 128k mode and simulated a touchscreen ZX keyboard. Geek heaven!

Secondly you will need another app installed on your PC to allow you to transfer files  between your computer and your iPad/iPhone. For this I used iPhone browser – http://www.macroplant.com/iphoneexplorer/

Thirdly, you will need a few games in either .tap ot .tzx format. One of the best online source is http://www.worldofspectrum.org/

In this example i’m going to use one of my favorite Spectrum games called Exolon.

You may also wish to pick up a few support files for each game such as artwork and instruction text. This is optional but it certainly looks better.

With my iPad connected to my netbook via USB I opened iPhone Explorer and browsed to the location where ZX Spectaculator keeps its games files – Apps/Spectulator/Spectulator.app/Gamepacks/

Copy one of the .TZX game files to your desktop and open it. I found it easier to use the game called ‘The Fantastic Mister Fruity’ as this already has standard joystick mapping for , down, left, right and Fire.

Inside there will be the game file xxx.tzx or xxx.tap. Delete this and copy over the game file you wish to import – i.e Exolon.tzx

Open up the ‘config’ file and locate the line that reads the game name and change this to your new game name i.e Exolon. You can also change the information about the game author, developer and year etc but it’s not a neccesity.

If you have downloaded the game artwork and screenshots you copy these over too. Just ensure that you name them Artwork and icon and that they are .png files. This will ensure the correct artwork is shown for your imported game.

In you’re handy with HTML you can also edit the Instructions & Addedum files to include replacement text specific to your imported game. For this I’ve copied the Txt file for the Exolon game from the World of Spectrum website and copied over a portions using MS Wordpad.


Once you have all of the files ready, you need to rename the folder from its original name to that of your new game (this should be exactly the same name you added to the config file) i.e Exolon.tzx

Finally copy the renamed folder from your desktop to the Apps/Spectulator/Spectulator.app/Gamepacks/ folder on you iPad/Iphone.

That’s it. Fire up the emulator and see if it works.

Imported game Exolon now shows in the list with custom icon graphic (icon.png)

Exolon artwork when the game is selected (Artwork.png). Note that the developer name is wrong and should have been changed in the config file. I’d left it unchanged to illustrate that the leaving it as it is won’t stop the game from working.

Yay it works. Tapping the top half of the screen flips between virtual Spectrum keyboard and virtual Joystick.

I love this game in all of its garish retro colors and on the iPad it looks so crisp. Time to kick some alien ass.

Playing Pheenix again (see yesterdays post).

I hope the above is of use to you, feel free to post any comments or questions you might have.

Here’s a quick video of ZX Spectaculator and my imported game in action.

33 responses to “Importing ZX Spectrum games onto iPad/iPhone.

  1. ok, that’s insanely awesome! pretty jealous I’m on android right now. wish I could play manic miner on my phone on the way to work in the morning. I’d be the coolest guy on the bus! Exolon was an awesome game too!

  2. Thanks Pete, actually i think you’re the lucky one as emulation is rampant on Android devices, wish i had one!

  3. Hi Pete

    Thanks for all the excellent detail. Unfortunately I have tried to load two of my favourite games ever (Terrormolinos and Special Operations) but both of them won’t load. Either of tzk or tap files.

    Yours, gutted!!
    Bassim

  4. Oh no! I’ll give both of them a try myself and see if I can get them working. Out of interest, what version of ZX Spectaculator are you using?

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  5. Ive tested this and found that tzx files work but tap files dont which is odd considering the app has both and im using the latest version of spectaculator recently released.

  6. Hmm, rather interesting, I’ll take a look at that myself. I haven’t used Spectaculator in ages and am liking the new look in Ver 3 (still running Ver 2 here).

    I’ll let you know how i get on….assuming i can import as now that i’ve upgraded to IOS6, copying files to/from my iPad is proving to be a bit of a bugger 🙂

    StiGGy

  7. ios6 nasty well if your on a a4 device you can go back to 5.1.1 which is what ive done on my ipad2 and phone hated 6
    and im gona experiment some more as well i will post my findings and look forward to reading yours.

  8. ok ive played about with this some more and can now confirm it can use any rom i throw at it specy wise.The main thing to remember is the folders extension must be in lower case .tzx or .tap not in caps and it works fine.
    Ive just added manic miner .tap and exolon.tzx to mine for testing and both work perfectly again i used your example and edited the The Fantastic Mister Fruity folder as a template for adjustement.Also this is on the latest version so it is safe to upgrade spectaculator.

  9. Many thanks for the update IanN, very useful to know. Thanks again for sharing too.

    Kind regards and happy new year

    Stiggy

  10. NP were all here for the same thing 🙂 and without you getting the ball rolling i wouldve probably overlooked this.
    Also happy new year to you also.

  11. Using iFunBox (because it’s free) I seem to be able to copy files into the Documents area, but not anywhere within the .app folder. Is this the iOS 6 problem you mentioned?

    If so does that mean we’re completely s***** on iOS 6?

    If there’s a way to do it then there’s an app called “ZX Spectrum for iPad” that looks even easier to import into – but falls into the same trap.

  12. I’ve not tried importing games into Spectaculator for a while now since I moved to iXspectrum (which you’ll need to JB to install). I’ll have a pay around again on a non JB iPad.

  13. Cheers – I’d be interested to hear how you get on.

    BTW – anyone emulation-minded with an iOS would do well to pick up Gridlee before it’s pulled from the app store. There’s a copy of Mame built in that you don’t need a JB to use!

  14. Right-o, will let you know how i get on and yes, have been enjoying the advanced port of Mame for a few days now. Am loving the increased compatibility.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  15. Yep, think we’re stuffed with this one mate as i can’t seem to drop anything in the documents folder or app (gamepacks) or app (demopacks) folders. I can’t even create a new folder or write over and exiting .tap or .tzx file.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  16. I have it working on IOS6. Grab some free games within the app, then with iExplorer go to Spectaculator/Library/PrivateDocuments/Purchased Games and drop your .tzx or .tap folders there. Cheers.

  17. Fantastic, thanks very much DaveTUK. Hope this is useful to others too.

    Many thanks again.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  18. Somehow I know it’s going to take way longer to add the games than I’ll ever spend playing them. Jet Set Willy alone tools he better part of an hour last night (though a lot of that was finding a copy that didn’t have the copy protection and wasn’t hacked to have different levels)

  19. It’s not too bad once you get into it. I find it useful to have a set of blank templates named accordingly – i.e ones that are configured for 4-way, 8-way and 2-way control.

    As far as importing lots of games, granted it would take you some time but to be honest, i personally use it for just a handful of favorite games i might want to dip into from time to time.

    Regards

    StiGGy

  20. Yeah, I should do that.

    So far I’ve just done Manic Miner and Jet Set Willy – which both have the same controls. I need to do some more experimentation to work out what the different joystick codes are.

  21. Hi, should this also work with the free version from Spectaculator?
    Becaus ei try some hours but will not work.
    Any change I try has no siccess:
    Simply rename an working game coming with the free app, add a “x” in the first character from the folder name, add a “x” in the file name (tgx) and add a “x” n the string from the gamename in the file Config.plist => Result: I see the “new” game (as xName…), but pressing “Fast play” or “Load” will have no effect !!

  22. Hi. Absolutely great blog. Many thanks. Bought my first Speccy in late 1983 and have missed it since mid 1ting them onto S990s. Given an iPad mini as birthday pressie and enjoying putting them into Spectaculator.

    One question though. How do you assign the joystick control – is it in the Config file. JetSetWilly works fine, but Manic Miner, Atic Atac (brilliant game) only seem to respond to one direction on joystick.

    Any ideas?

    One again, thanks a million.

  23. Hey there – Great little machine (Speccy and ipad Mini!)

    Correct regarding the joystick controls, everything needs to be defined on a per game basis within each games config file.

    Maybe the config file you’ve used for Manic Miner was originally based on a one button game? If the config file for JSW works for you, I’d duplicate for Manic Miner and try that one out.

    Regards

    StiGGy

  24. Thanks for that. Just wanted to check that the CONFIGURATION file was the one which contained the code for joystick/ keyboard assignment. Am I right?

    30 years ago did a lot of Sinclair BASIC coding – so the CONFIGURATION file should not be too challenging.

    Want to take iPad to my PS3 playing grandsons to show them what a REAL game looks like!

    David

  25. Correct my friend, each game has a configuration file.

    I spent a lot of time at the Retro Computer Museum and its always great to see the young ones discovering a game on the Atari 2600, BBC micro, Commodores and Spectrums etc.

  26. Can’t get my tzx roms to work, my ipad is on ios 7 and I really want to play good old spectrum zx games. I payed for all my emulators and all my spectrum games but the ones I really want to play the App Store don’t have get any one help me plz. Thanks

Leave a comment