Retro Revival 2014.

Hello again, long time no post!

Last weekend I attended Retro Revival and a chance to indulge in two days of non stop retro gaming goodness and laughs with friends. It’s also my little rewards for all the replastering, sanding, mitring, levelling, grinding,  cutting, swearing, recutting, painting, polishing and swearing that’s kept me busy over the past few months.

We had such a great time as last years event and mini event held in December (see previous post – https://stiggyblog.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/retro-revival-2013/, ) and have been really looking forward to this one since the dates was announcement and the steady drip feed of show information went into overdrive these past few weeks.

Here’s some of the photo’s I’d taken between games.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

Walkthrough videos are starting to appear on Youtube, here’s one of the good ones

 

Event organisers Chris and Craig really nailed it with Retro Revival 2014. Here’s to the next one!

Speaking of next one, the second of this years huge retro gaming events Play:Expo is only a few months away. See you there?

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Retro Revival 2014.

  1. Nice to see you blogging again! Speaking of “It’s also my little rewards for all the replastering,…” – did you have your own stand with your machines at that event? Just curious. Cheers.

  2. Thanks mate, time certainly has flown though! None of my stuff was at the event, I was there enjoying everyone else’s collection. I wished I’d taken my Dreamcast/Soul Caliber though, I couldn’t find one and had a score to settle with a friend.

    Take care.

    StiGGy

  3. Hi StiGGy,

    Great to see you back in action again! 🙂 I totally agree with you that a reward is in place after all the DIY you’ve done during the last months. Well done!

    That event looks like pretty much like the place to be. Is PlayExpo kind of the same? I have never been to such an event before and I’d love to take a trip over to the UK, money permitting of course, with the wife and kid. I know my daughter would love all those games. Where is PlayExpo being held?

    Anyway, glad to see you back mate. 🙂 Keep it up!

  4. Hey there, nice to hear from you, hope all is good at your end?

    PlayExpo, from a retro gaming perspective is pretty much the same as Retro Revival although there’s about three times as many arcade machines and pinball tables. I’ve just heard that this years arcade/pinball lanes are going to be their biggest yet – including a collection of classic sega sit down deluxe cabs such as Outrun, Afterburner (the very big one), Thunderblade and Super Hangon.

    The retro side makes up about a third of the show, the rest caters for modern gamers, Indie scene, massive LAN matches, cos-play and traders. Over the years PlayExpo has grown beyond solely a retro gaming event and has become geek heaven. For a lot of folk, purely into retro gaming, this was seen as bad move but Play responded by creating a separate mini (actually huge) specific retro gaming event to cater to those that prefer chunky pixels. Personally, I’m not really into all that modern gaming but, between retro gaming, it’s just a nice break to walk around the huge event and see what’s what.

    This year, VIP guests announced so far include Dave Browse, Kenny Baker, Jeremy Bullock from SW, Chris Barre and Craig Charles from Red Dwarf, various movie cars from the Transformers movies.

    Play Expo is held in Manchester therefore close to major road, rail and air links and is right next door to one of the UK’s biggest shopping centres – The Trafford Centre. This is where my wife will no doubt be whilst I rack up some high scores.

    Both Retro Revival and PlayExpo are suuuuuperb events and if you get chance to come visit either of them i really don’t think you’ll be disappointed. In fact, eyeballs bulging and jaw flapping is guaranteed when you see all that retro gear.

    My friends at the Retro Computer Museum will have a booth so if you do come, it would be great if you popped along to say hi.

    Take care

    StiGGy

  5. Nice video – I was there as part of the RetroCollect staff. I came across your blog a few weeks ago when researching how to get Flashback playing on Dreamcast via SD card – I gave your blog a mention in the article in case anyone else wanted to try it too. Had no idea you were going to Revival. I’ll be at Play Manchester with RetroCollect too, please come and say hello if you see us there! Nice site too, I enjoy reading your retro-related articles.

  6. Hey there and many thanks. I’ll certainly stop by and say hi. RetroCollect has always been one of my go to places for retro gaming news.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

Leave a Reply

