Feeling old

We’ve just got back home after having an absolutely brilliant time at my parents annual Christmas party. A chance to catch up with my brothers and sisters, now parents themselves, extended families and ever growing nieces and nephews all sky high on Christmas candy and excitement. The children are now at an age where video games have been discovered and todays conversation between themselves has been all vita, ds, xbox and playstation….and I have no idea what they’re talking about. I find this all rather odd and am suddenly feeling that little bit out of touch….and old.

It’s just so weird, I grew up with this stuff. From pumping coins into Asteroids cabinets, typing my first program into a BBC micro, unboxing my first Commodore 64, producing my first ray-traced picture on an Amiga, installing my first CD-ROM drive and queuing up for a Playstation (one) at launch.

I am a classically trained joystick junkie.

I guess it’s all down to dwindling interest since the Sega Dreamcast, the last console I brought and I haven’t really stayed in touch with modern systems and I honestly couldn’t tell you the difference between Call of Breed and Assassins Duties. You see, even that sounds like something an old person would say to get ‘down with the kids’. Oh so old!

Maybe I should get me one of these xbox ones’ or PS4? Although both don’t seem to be as open as I’d like my gaming experience to be after listening to my nephews. Locked if the internet is down? pay extra to unlock content I thought I’d brought? What do you mean, I won’t be able to play a game I’ve borrowed from you?

Or have I got the wrong end of the stick?

And how many flipping buttons are there on those pads…oh wait my leg is now a joystick?

Thankfully my brothers, sensing my confusion brought me back into the world of 8-bits with a jolly nice conversation about Jet Set Willy. I fear I’m not the only old (old) school gamer here.

6 responses to “Feeling old

  1. Don’t worry…. this is just normal. Sometimes I take a peak in Games TM to get a glimpse whats going on, but wherever I look around it is the same at people of our age. We rather spent our time tinkering with old hardware instead of picking up one of those new monster controllers with thousands of buttons. It is probably the same thing that happened to our parents when they found out that programming the videorecorder is just a little to new for them and called us for help. Let’s face it: We are as old as our computers and they still look good to us. So what?!

    As Homer J. Simpson once said: “There was nothing bad about the past, except that it brought us the future.” 😉

  2. Glad to see I’m not the only one then. Is this how midlife Crysis start? – crysis…see what I did there….I’ve been researching 😉

  3. I wholeheartedly second DaNDeE. I would say this is not a problem with the hardware, nor today’s games. This is about us. About our expectations, habits and our roots.

    I do have PS3, but actually we (my wife and myself :)) purchased it to run God of War 3. I bought couple of other games and I’ve been checking new demos, but I would be really more interested in running WinUAE or Atari800 emulators. Without modding the console.

    Midlife crisis? Yeah. I like a lot 🙂

  4. God of War? You’ve lost me there, is it like Chuckie Egg 😉

    Seriously though, I understand what you mean….but it does feel weird.

  5. In fact, after few beers it may look like Chuckie Egg just with pair of blades. Put your glasses away, sit in a fair distance from you tv, and there is a high chance you won’t notice any difference 😉

    I know what you mean. It does feel weird. This is progression. The world has moved on (and keep doing), as one can read in “The Dark Tower”. Actually the Roland’s view and observations made me so hectic about that book series few years back.

  6. Woo, haven’t read those in ages. Added to my 2014 book list!

    Yep, progression, maybe in another 30 years, nephews blog posts will be whimsically recalling retro games like GTA V 🙂

Leave a Reply

