486 DOS PC rebuild.

I stumbled upon this rather cool blog entry this morning – a project to recreate the authors 1996 486 based DOS PC.

http://www.bytecellar.com/2013/12/28/dos-box-build-update-1/

Inspiration for another project?

Looking forward to reading more as the build progresses.

6 responses to “486 DOS PC rebuild.

  1. I’ve been thinking of building a couple of dedicated dos machines with a bit more grunt than the One I owned back then. I’d like to play a bit of Duke Nukem, Doom and Quake as they were originally intended again. I have a bit of a soft spot for some of the Lucas stuff from back then too – DOSBOX never really feel the same to me. There are quite a few games I never got around to playing back then.

    I think I would approach this by getting a rig from ebay as close to spec as possible, and then find the couple of odds & sods I need rather than buying specific parts to meet a specific spec. That just sounds expensive.

    Have a good New Year!

  2. Ditto to that – must be able to play Doom without having to minimise the screen size down to a postage stamp. Something like a 486 DX4 100mhz….or even an earlier Pentium? Maybe even throw in a 3dfx card too, I’d love to be able to play Screamer Rally again.

    As you say, I wouldn’t be too fussed about specific parts either so I guess price wise, putting together a little DOS box wouldn’t be too expensive?

    I shall certainly be giving it more thought as I’m really warming to the idea of building one of these. In fact, it’s the sourcing and building that sounds like more fun than using it!

    Wishing you a Happy New Year too!

  3. Hmm, not to sure that PC sucks, especially early PC gaming as there’s far too many classics to enjoy. Modern PC’s maybe, it’s just so complicated (and expensive) to keep your rig at the top of the curve these days so I gave up many years ago.

  4. Oh, I did not mean to sound so serious 🙂 PC sucks and iNTEL outside was like a ‘battle hymns’ to me and my peers in 90s. I read this blog post just after I have finished “Feeling old”, so excuse me the reference.

Leave a Reply

