Happy Birthday ZX81

A very Happy 33rd Birthday to the Sinclair ZX81.

20130305-092631.jpg

Still loved, still used and with the talent of dedicated fans the ’81 just keeps on giving. Here’s myself messing around with one and the awesome-ness that is the ZXpand interface board.

So, happy birthday again ZX81, may you continue to entertain us for many more years to come, and hopefully not retired to this kind of duty πŸ™‚

20130305-093108.jpg

4 responses to “Happy Birthday ZX81

  1. Still my favourite machine ever, because it was my first. Although, I bought one of it’s parents yesterday, got my first ZX80 – it’s just the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen, but I won’t tell the 81’s πŸ™‚
    Thanks for pointing this out mate, a worthy day to celebrate!

  2. What amazes me is the fan base and new software/hardware that’s always coming out. There’s a lotta love for the ’81.

    Congrats on the 80 too, well spotted! How sweaty was you when the last few seconds ticked away?

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  3. A friend and I built a clone in the late eighties with a chiclet keyboard from Russia ordered on a bbs. It was one of my first serious electronics projects. We did a pretty good job I think. It was every bit as unstable as the original and if possible slightly more jury rigged and only rarely caught fire πŸ™‚ They are quite cleverly built machines actually. I must say though, somebody at Sinclair needed to take Clive aside to have a quiet word about his choice of keyboards.

Leave a Reply

