My gaming week #6

Hmm, well this week hasn’t produced much in the way of free game time as it’s all been work, work work. Still, here’s a couple that’s been keeping me entertained this week.

Now apart from a handful of coin-op conversions and messing around with one at the Retro Computer Museum, I’m not overly versed in all things PC Engine/TurboGrafx-16 therefore more often than not, I’ll just dive into the archive and see what I can find. This week I came up with a colourful cartoon shooter and so catchy it is, I’ve not been able to get the stage tunes out of my head.

PC Dengin/Air Zonk –  PC Engine (1992)

air_zonk

Air Zonk sure is one fine side scrolling shooter. Apparently it’s a spin off of the popular Bonk series of games, again one I’m not overly familiar with these other than the conversion of Bonk’s Adventure on the Amiga (BC Kid).

Air Zonk is colourful, full of cartoon like characters, cool and unusual weapon upgrades, a buddy system where you can  fight alongside a computer controlled sidekick ( you can can also ‘interface’ with them  to form a super badass Air Zonk!) has some equally weird and wonderful end of level bosses and a whole bag of foot tapping chip tune goodness.

Air Zonk sporting his yellow Z punk do and some of his sidekick friends.

Air Zonk (U)-001

No time to check out those  smooth multilayer parallax scrolling backgrounds, there’s a rocket man to take down.

Air Zonk (U)-004

I’ve got no idea what it is, but stay away from that magnet,  after all you’re part  metal!

Air Zonk (U)-005

One of my favourite power-up weapons, the chomping teeth. Hold down the fire button for a few seconds to unleash a ‘super chomp’ – well, that’s what I’m calling it anyway. Also note the sidekick cat.

Air Zonk (U)-013

I’ve now morphed with the cat to become ‘super happy feline punkbuster turbo’. Weapons switched to furball ‘Bow’ mode.

Air Zonk (U)-010

The only problem I’ve got with Air Zonk is that everything is all fun right up until the last stage – Land of Drool. Not that there’s anything wrong with this stage, it’s just that it’s soooo long and made up of multiple fights with all the previous level bosses, some mini stages then more boss fights, more stages and then a super boss.  It’s very easy to loose all your precious lives you’ve been building up and one single boss and if you do, you’ll have to start the whole stage again….a tad frustrating  but I’ll keep at it as this is one I’d love to finish.

Here’s a quick peek at the game with the tune from stage one playing out.

*************************************

I wasn’t sure about this web/flash based retro puzzle game but the more I got into it and figured out what you had to do it really starts to grow on you.

GunBrick – Web/Flash – http://www.kongregate.com/games/Nitrome/gunbrick

That’s you there…that yellow, white and blue brick.

gb1

Press left/right cursor to roll your brick. Hmm, how to get up to that platform above?

Press the Spacebar and you’ll release a fireball and note the kickback will lift you in the air. So, with this new skill, roll left or right to position under a platform and shoot your way up to the top.

I’m gonna let you figure out the rest as that part of the charm of Gunbrick.

Those pesky red guns will fire a steady stream of red blobs of death. Thankfully, the top of your brick (the white bit) is immune to these blobs so point in the right direction and time your movement.

gb2

I’ve just rolled over the blue switch which will open the exit for me. But first I’ve got to figure out how to get past this gun turret.

gb3

Breaking on through.

gb4

I really like Gunbrick, it fun, challenging and contains super sized retro pixels, what’s there not to like..hmm, the music might get a little irritating but other than , it’s a damn fine game.

10 responses to “My gaming week #6

  1. Discovering those old games is great. This past weekend went to GEEK 2013 in Margate (Replay event). Although there were around 150+ machines and only one game loaded per machine it sort of forced me into playing games I wouldn’t otherwise have looked at/known about.

    Some of the stuff me/my son enjoyed weren’t exactly ‘old’ (Power Stone 2, Burnout 3) but it was good dad/son stuff. Was interesting that things like Spectrum, Atari etc. really didn’t appeal to him, but the hand-held stuff (e.g. Astro Wars) did.

    Personally, ‘found’ ‘Typing of the Dead’, which, as a good typist, was great fun for me.

    Also thumbs up to the guys from specialeffect.org,uk and their interfaces for seriously disabled kids to play games – clever stuff.

    And, best of all, stuck for a Mothers Day present idea (from the kids) for my other half, bought a Master System and Psycho Fox – the only game she’s ever raved about and I know she’s going to love almost as much as chocolate on Mothers Day.

  2. Glad you had fun at Geek 2013 Andy, Replay Events sure do put on a good show. I’ve not been to the events they hold further down south but have attended the events in Huddersfield, Blackpool and Manchester over the years.

    The two events i’m looking forward to the most this year is Revival (Wolverhampton) as it’s going to be arcade and pinball-tastic, as well as our own event (Retro Computer Museum) in March.

    There must be something about Astro Wars as whenever we have this out, kids glue themselves to it 🙂

    Also great to hear you managed to find a wobderful Mothers day present, and a great system it is to. I’ve always had a soft spot for the Sega Master System.

    Kind regards

    Steve

  3. What a plank I’ve been. I bought a Master System 2 with the Psycho Fox and today, started the process of trying to hook it up to the TV. Aaaargh, doesn’t seem to connect to a modern tv. Well, connects via the lead with it but can’t get it to work (no channels to manually tune).

    Then tried to get the Megadrive connecting (thinking I’d buy a master system converter) but no joy with that either.

    Any thoughts on how to get psycho fox in any other way? Wondering if I can get it working on ipad.

    Andy

  4. Ah bugger, it’s shame that modern TV’s are starting to do away with channel tuning.

    I’m not sure what other cable options are available on a SMS model 2 as I think it’s just RF only (unless you’re handy with a solder iron and fancy going inside for an AV mod? ).

    Master System model 1 have an additional DIN plug allowing the use of a standard to DIN to Scart or RCA cable if you happen to spot another cheaply/quickly on eBay?

    As far as the iPad, yes there are SMS emulators but to run these you’ll need to have a jailbroken device. If, so, then I highly recommend the EMU series of emulators by Robert Broglia –

    http://www.explusalpha.com/

    Hope that helps, sorta?

    Kind Regards

    StiGGy

  5. The silly thing is that there were MS 1 on sale as well, but they cost more. Me not understanding why went for the cheaper option – doh!

    Saw the mod stuff online – as someone who considers it a miracle to have wired a plug myself, I thought I’d better pass on that.

    Too late for Mother’s Day (will think of another present) but it’s got me on the search for the ultimate TV (older) that will be compatible with most consoles (older ones). Sony Trinitron seems to be quite popular on the various forums. That’d be quite cool to have a room set up with just old machines and a TV or two that will make it easy to run those consoles.

    Could we see a day when older TVs become in higher demand because of how they make it easier to run consoles on?

    Starting to think that Retro Gamer mag ought to do one of their magazine specials purely on the subject of old machines/emulators etc. and how to set up in the modern environment.

  6. I probably would have made the same mistake, although depending on the difference in price I’ll always prefer the styling of the MS 1.

    The little desktop tv I use on my geek desk featured is nothing more than a cheap supermarket special. However it has ever input you could every think of, including USB for basic movie file playback.

    Might be worth you taking a look at you nearest supermarket?

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  7. Good news Steve – co-worker heard of my plight and dug out their Sony Trinitron from the loft. A few days before M-Day and Psycho Fox is working like a dream. Lifting the TV though reminded me that I really should work out my muscles more often!

  8. Fantastic news Andy, so glad it all came together for you.

    Speaking of workout, hey, you should join us at the retro computer museum when we’re putting on an event, usually 60 odd CRT TV’s and umpteen game systems to lug about…then on to the arcade cabinets 😮

    Have a wonderful weekend sir, enjoy the Master System, then get on eBay and hunt down some more SMS classics 🙂

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

Leave a Reply

