My Gaming Week #2

Heavy Snow has been causing so much chaos on the road this week especially during the commute to and from work – nearly two and a hours stuck on the M1 one day ūüė¶ So with free time a little on the short side, so has my game time for week #2.

One game that I have started to re-re-re-re-visit (yup, everyone has played this one) is Super Mario World on the SNES.

supermarioworld (Custom)

SMW is pure fun whether you’ve got five hours or just five minutes to kill and has been the perfect game companion this week. I was spurred on to take another look at this beginning of the week ¬†after finding a free web based SNES emulator on the Google Chrome Web Store – thinking it would save me time getting my Snes out of storage and setting it up. Hmm, I can’t seem to locate the URL¬†any more¬†so i guessing Nintendo’s lawyers had a word? Any-ho, there was a whole collection of Mario based games but to be quite honest the emulator sucked and ran so slowly that SMW was practically unplayable.

So, my SNES came out¬†after all ¬†and I’ve been dipping in and out of it all week.

I was doing great and racking up quite a collection of lives on the the early stages. but things have started to heat up in the Vanilla Dome. Dome 3 and 4 has really took some beating and am currently fighting with my controller on Lemmy’s castle.

MW_1

No doubt SMW will see we well into next week and beyond. I’ve only ever completed it once and compared to say SMB3 it’s not as tough…..still, I must be rusty as it’s certainly giving we a whippin this time around.

*********************

Lunch break gaming has been well catered for this week with this a rather simple yet most excellent Flash based, dual stick shooter – Retro Assault –¬†http://www.kongregate.com/games/Zyzic/retro-assault

Controls – check, know thy enemy – check, got my ‘bits’ wallet ready – check. Lets begin.

retroassault1

It all starts off reasonably slow until Wave four when those pesky blue arrow shaped thingiess hone in on your position. Run, shoot and survive until the orange timer bar at the bottom of the screen is depleted.

retroassault4

Level over, time to spend those ‘bits’ on upgrade’s you’ll need em!

retroassault3

*************************************

During the week, my mate Max released a beta demo of Cosmic Ark for the Commodore 64. It’s a conversation of the Atari 2600 game by Imagic and is coming along quite nicely and is just as addictive as the original.

There’s still a few bugs to be ironed out but if you fancy a go, you can download the release at CSDB.

http://csdb.dk/release/?id=114953

 

cosmic1

 

Pilot your drone ship and rescue the inhabitants with your tractor beam. Don’t stray into the path of the defence towers on the left and right as your mission will be very short lived.

 

cosmic2

 

Return to the mothership and repel those planet destroying asteroids.

cosmic3

 

Cosmic Ark, might look a little basic, but at it core is damn fine arcade game. Being a ¬†friend of the author makes it that little bit more special and¬†I’m¬†sure that high score competitions will be played out at many RCM gaming days to come.

Just for fun I created a mock cartridge for Cosmic Ark for Max in Photoshop using a picture of my C64 Simons Basic cartridge and the box art from the Atari 2600 game. I’ve colour matched the box art to the cart , embossed the layer and merged using blur, clone, smudge tools. Pretty crap I know but was fun to do all the same.

cosmicark_stiggy

Hopefully, more game time next week!

Leave a Reply

