C64 Winter Challenge – Barrel Jumping.

Well with that big dumping of snow that Ms. Nature decided to drop on us here it’s all looking rather picturesque and wintry out there and a perfect <lame> excuse for a spot of winter themed retro gaming.

This time, I’m on a mission to beat a record set by a work colleague many years ago on the Barrel Jumping event in World Games on the Commodore 64.

1364368-world_gamesc64

The records stands at 18 barrels and my personnel best is 14.

Left…….right…..left…right…leftrightleftrightleftJUMP…Weeeeee!

worldgames3

 

Aw crap, the challenge remains!

worldgames5

Right, lets try my to beat my personal best.

Line em up.

worldgames2

Yay, that’s more like it, a new personal best.

icebarrel

I had a few more goes at 18 barrels but i’m still way short of the mark. So….whilst no one was looking, I dug out a few old Zzap64 magazines, grabbed my Action Replay cartridge and entered a few POKE cheats 🙂

This is the skateboard hack 🙂

worldgames_wb

If that doesn’t work, how about a POKE for a Dropzone jetpack?

worldgames2_dz

…and if all else fails, you can always go Turrican on those pesky barrels 🙂

worldgames_tr

Mawse, if you’re reading this, get in touch mate and we’ll meet up for, a beer and I’ll bring my laptop/emulator so you can show me how 18 barrels is done…..actually forget that, let’s just have beer 🙂

Leave a Reply

