Finally, Vectrex Regeneration.

Yep, I know it’s been out for quiet sometime, but after that initial hiccup with the first release, (namely, it not working on jailbroken iOS devices) I kinda lost touch with it during the run up to Christmas and knowing I had some new iCade joystick tops heading my way for Christmas, I held of downloading Vectrex Regeneration….until now.

I won’t go into a full review here as there’s been so much said already about this utterly brilliant Vectrex emulator and besides, it a free app (with Mine Storm) so go check it out…although I’m sure most of you already have!

On the iPhone, its not so great, although not the faulty emulator, it’s just that the iPhone screen is way too small to be able to play some of the Vectrex games. It’s much better on the iPad and coupled with an iCade it’s pretty darn close to playing on a real Vectrex.

For just £4.99 you get access to every Vectrex game and a collection homebrew games – including Thrust which is absolutely superb.

Loving that fact that you get digital representations of the coloured overlays…although these can be turn them off if they’re not to your liking.

Hmm, that gives me an idea, the iPad screen is about the same as the Vectrex 🙂

20121226-140736.jpg

Side by side, Vectrex and Vextrex Regeneration. Pretty damn close if you ask me.

20121226-140940.jpg

When I’ve got a little bit more free time, I want to explore the apps files a little closer to see if I can figure out how to add more Homebrew games. If anyone has a copy of VeCaves/Rom dump, do you fancy submitting it to the Vectrex Regeneration chaps to see if they can seek authors permission for an official release?

Any-ho, Fortress of Narzod awaits 🙂

2 responses to “Finally, Vectrex Regeneration.

  1. I have an original Vectrex, and had been looking for a review of this emulator as I need an excuse to invest in an iCade cabinet for my iPad. Retro Gamer magazine seemed to rate it, but after seeing these pictures side by side it has made up my mind.

    Cheers!

    Roly

  2. It’s a great piece of kit for the vectrex app including many other emulators too. My only recommendation is swapping out the original noisy microswitches for something a bit less ‘clicky’ – I written about my own swap out on a post here.

    Happy gaming

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

Leave a Reply

