SSD for my netbook?

I’ve been toying with the idea of replacing the 2.5″ SATA drive in my netbook (Acer 1825ptz) with an SSD but was wondering, for those of you that might already use SSD’s, would I see much in the way of increased performance/boot to time? Alternatively, would it be best to use it as a boot drive in my main PC to give it a good kick start when booting?

Either way, I’m not looking at getting a very large drive, maybe something like a 160gb, as I tend to have most of my data on my NAS. My netbook is usually used for surfing and the odd spot of retro gaming of course!

Many thanks

StiGGy

5 responses to “SSD for my netbook?

  1. I’d recommend the laptop route personally. If you are anything like me, when you sit down in front of the desktop, you are going to be there a good while probably with a coffee doing a serious piece of work ect – does a slightly quicker boot really matter?

    The laptop on the other hand is going to benefit from a quick boot if you want to do a bit of surfing or play a quick game on an emulator, plus SSD’s save power, so excellent when out and about. I can understand why people groan about the price difference though.

  2. Thanks for the advice Zenemu and you’re absolutely right, now that I think about it, it would be wasted in my PC.

    Many thanks

    StiGGy

  3. Hey Stiggy, I’d definitely go for a SSD, 64-128Gb models are cheap now, and give you more speed and keep your data safer. If you use your netbook on-the-road a lot, having a traditional hard disk under the hoods is risky 😉 I personally suggest you to avoid OCZ and go for Samsung (830 series) or Intel 🙂

  4. Hey thanks for the advice Eldino. I was going to go for the OZ models as I’d heard many great things about them but i’ll have to have a look at the other brands. I was also looking at Crucial branded SSD too. I was tempted to get one this side of Christmas, but as I’m in no rush and might get a better deal in the sales will hold out for a couple of weeks.

    Many thanks again. Look forward to trying one out now.

  5. I’ve upgraded two netbooks and two laptops with SSDs and I am a fan of them. Responsiveness improves and (to a lesser degree) power consumption goes down. I’ve used the Sandisk Ultra, Crucial M4 and Intel (Cherryvale?) SSDs and all have worked well. The Sandisk and Intel went into Asus 1001PX an 1015PX netbooks, respectively.

Leave a Reply

