History of Ocean Software book.

There’s some pretty impressive kickstarter projects out there for retro gamers at the moment (my eyes are in the Beneath a Steel Sky sequel, and the remake of Elite) and here another that popped up yesterday from Chris Wilkinson of Retro Fusion magazine.

This one definitely gets my backing so lets hope there’s enough funds to see this great idea turn into reality.

Full project details can be found here – http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/47744432/the-history-of-ocean-software-by-retro-fusion

2 responses to “History of Ocean Software book.

  1. Hi,

    I enjoy reading your blog. I never miss a post. I’m an arcade hobbyist from Montreal, Canada. I though you might be interested by this. I recently finished a reproduction controller for the 1982 Gottlieb Reactor arcade game. I wanted to built a full cabinet but seriously starting to lack space in the garage. So I settle for a controller only that would plug into a Mame setup. When I ordered the CPO from Phoenix arcade, it came with the marquee. I could’nt resign myself to leave it collect dust on a shelf so I came up with a Deluxe controller with integrated marquee. The controller now have a shape that recalls the original cabinet. The marquee lites up and I installed Led in the buttons and trackball.

    You can see the final result in a short video (0:30) on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVtE7z2-n70

    Thanks again for your blog !

    Regards,

    Mike

    Date: Thu, 15 Nov 2012 06:27:48 +0000 To: michel.descoteaux@hotmail.com

  2. Hey Mike, many thanks for the comments, really appreciated. My jaw dropped when I saw your Youtube video, OUTSTANDING work my friend and surely deserves an awesome-ness badge of approval! 🙂

    I would love to take a closer look, especially inside. Do you have any Flickr (or similar) pictures or a blog we could look at?

    I must say, although I’ve never used them before, those light up arcade buttons really do look special. Maybe I’ll incorporate them on my next build – A desktop CP with twin stick and trackball.

    Hope to hear from you again.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

    Go Habbs!…..although maybe not this year eh? 😦

Leave a Reply

