Thumbs up G.O.G – Interstate ’76 on offer.

I’ve mentioned a few time before on this blog that I’m a huge fan Interstate ’76 by Activision. It’s a game I’ve played so many times before and was a real eye opener back in the days when PC gamers brought their first gen graphic accelerator card .

Even though the game was quite linear, the sheer fun of being able to drive around free from tracks, barriers or rules and to go wherever you wanted. It was quite rare for a driving game back in the day until titles like Driver and GTA3 came along.

With a simple non force feedback steering wheel I had at the time, it was just cool to drive my suped up 70’s Piranha around the rocky outback, listening to funky whicky-whicky guitar licks and foot tapping bass.

Remember the intro?

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to play Interstate ’76. My original two CD set no longer worked due to the amount of surface scratched on the install CD. Funnily enough the second CD with the music on it and subsequently was the one that was spinning the most in the CD-Rom drive works just perfectly.

You might remember a few weeks back when I picked up a few retro bargains at a boot sale and a boxed copy of Interstate ’76 was included, well I’ve been trying to get it to run this evening and although it installs o.k, it simply crashes on start up. It’s a common problem with this game especially when tried on modern hardware and an O/S that’s above MS Window 98 – In fact, I keep meaning to build myself an old classic DOS/Win95 gaming PC as there’s quite a few others that are a bit tricky to run as well…game like Crimson Skies for example. But that’s for another day!

Any-ho… I’ve been trying the 3D Gold patches for I76 and various other bits and pieces based on advice I’ve read in old forum posts but I’m still no further forward and was about to give up.

All is not lost though as there’s a pre-patched version being sold on Good Old Games which I’ve read as working perfectly on today’s PC configurations.

Not only that but is also includes the excellent Nitro expansion Pack.

….and it looks like I picked the perfect time to browse as GOG are currently having sale with 60% off their current Activision library so I got Interstate ’76 for just of £1.50! HUGE thumbs up GOG!

So lets set the scene again –

It’s 1976… a different ’76. Stretched out before you are thousands of miles of desert – the American Southwest. The massive engine roars as you slam down the throttle. It’s time to get funked up…

You are Groove Champion, auto-vigilante. Your agenda: payback for your dead sister. Your weapon: A 425-horsepower ’72 Picard Piranha with two 50-caliber machine guns on the roof and a flamethrower on the side. You’re one mean dude in an even meaner ride.

They’ve messed with the wrong Champion’

Installation went well, the intro started and the main menu displayed…no crashes, no glitches…so far so good. Lets start the game….got goosebumps.

WOOOHOOOOOOO….we are GO!

20121008-200158.jpg

GOG also provide a Glide support so you can run I76 with 3D acceleration to get rid of some of the blocky pixelated graphics. However, the screen resolution is fixed at 640 x 480 and so it’s probably not worth it.

Rough Champion.

20121008-200239.jpg

There’s a forum post that links to a replacement Glide wrapper and after downloading it and installing myself I’m now playing I76 in glorious 1920×1080 with full D3d support.

Smooth Champion!

You can find details here – http://www.gog.com/en/forum/interstate_76_arsenal/i_76_at_high_res_even_widescreen

;

Melee mode, let the games begin.

6 responses to “Thumbs up G.O.G – Interstate ’76 on offer.

  1. I’ve never played this game. True, seen the box in a bargain bin. But I do get your passion for “old stuff” cuz there’re plenty of ol’dusters that still have much live in them.
    Congrats on having fun playing the game. Gonna check out some videos on yt.

  2. Yeah, they’re pretty good for the older stuff that’s harder to find. I have to agree though, you can’t beat owning a proper boxed copy although most appear to be traded for silly amounts on eBay these days.

Leave a Reply

