Dial-A-Pirate

Another fantastic day at the Retro Computer Museum today as we continue to sort, test and catalogue the ever growing collection of hardware and software. I was rummaging around the Amiga section and came across the original big box version of Lucasart’s classic – The Secret Of Monkey Island. Popping the box open to see if it included the infamous and unique copy protection device.

…and as you can see it did. Always makes me smile when I see this.

Dial-A-Pirate!

20111015-194348.jpg

When the game starts, a picture of a pirates face is displayed on screen (actually a combination of two faces) and the name of a place. You will be prompted to input a correct date to continue on to the game.

Using the Dial-A-Pirate, you turn the wheel so replicate the pirate face on screen. Look at the place name on the wheel and note the date displayed below it. Enter this date to confirm you have a genuine retail copy of the game and if correct, the game should continue.

It certainly beats looking up a word on page 8, paragraph 3, row 7, forth word across..and let’s not forget the (cue sinister music) LensLok device.

6 responses to “Dial-A-Pirate

  1. The Dial-A-Pirate wheel is cool. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve got the original version of The Secret of Monkey Island for my Amiga, with code-wheel and everything. Great memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hey there, great to hear from you.

    I couldn’t agree more and the Amiga version with it’s outstanding music was far better than the VGA PC version. Still amazes me how they managed to squeeze it all on to four floppy disks!

    Regards

    StiGGy

  3. Yes, I agree with you. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Amiga version had much better music than the one for PC.

    Monkey Island 2 came on 11 disks for the Amiga though.. that is one large game. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Ouch, even with a 2nd drive that’s a hellava lot of disk swapping. I remember Beneath a Steel Sky was also 11 disks (I think) but thankfully it came with a Hdd installer.

    Hehe, I remember upgrading to Windows 95 from floppy disks….now that hurt ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Yep, quite a stack. From memory about 13 or 14 disks…..sadly after installation, I realised my 486 sx66 wasn’t really up to the job anymore. A few months later I had me my first Pentium CPU. Welcome to the fast lane ๐Ÿ™‚

    a new CPU, motherboard, a whopping 8mb of ram and a quad speed cd-rom drive….all for (gulp) ยฃ800 ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Leave a Reply

