Retro game art – propaganda posters

I was having a browse across the Internet for inspirational ideas for decorating my mini – mini Mame cab and am looking at colour and style of various arcade cabinets, home games consoles and pop art from the late 70’s and 80’s.

Any-ho, as most Internet journeys go, one link leads to another and you happen to come across something that just make you go wow, so I thought i’d share it.

This is steventhomasart’s photo stream on Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/54366280@N03/ )and being a fan of poster art from the early 20th century, Steven’s modern depictions in this vintage style really made me smile. I love the Sci-fi themed travel posters like this one –

20111007-223916.jpg

…but it wasn’t until I continued to loom through his gallery to find these totally awesome images of classic video games in the style of vintage propaganda posters.

PAC MAN

20111007-224244.jpg

Asteroids

20111007-224312.jpg

Donkey Kong

20111007-224346.jpg

There’s many more to browse through so if like me, you love this artistic style, head on over there and take a look. Amazing stuff I deed!

Leave a Reply

