Microsoft Windows 8 – Preview running on my Acer 1825ptz.

After downloading Microsofts preview edition of Windows 8 from their developer site, I thought I’d give it a go on my Acer tablet/netbook in the hope that I could test drive the new touchscreen interface.

Not wanting to wipe my current Window 7 harddisk, I’ll be swapped it out for an unused SATA drive i have. Its only 80gb but should be fine for testing. I suppose I could dualboot but this way it’s a lot less messy.

My Acer netbook is without cd/dvdrom drive therefore I’ll be booting the Windows 8 installer from a 4gb USB pen drive.

20110919-173113.jpg

I think I’d left my regular pen drive at work therefore i had to nip out to get this one. These things are so cheap nowadays it’s a shame they didn’t have any 8gb in store, I would have liked the extra storage space!

There are many ways to create a bootable pen drive including manually or via software apps.

For me, I though it would be fun to do it via command line. You can find a great tutorial here for Windows Vista or Win 7.

Apart from using my favourite Daemon Tools for mounting the .iso file, the above tutorial worked out pretty well.

Last task before installing Windows 8 was to swap over the internal hdd, insert my USB Pendrive and select USB boot options from within my Netbook’s BIOS settings.

At the kitchen table nearest to the coffee pot….and making a mess 🙂

20110919-174403.jpg

Installation was pretty straight forward and at this stage mirrors Windows 7. You can pretty much leave it alone for this bit. At the first reboot, don’t forget to remove the pen drive (or change the boot order back to HDD).

20110919-174656.jpg

Heres the new setup page. Looks like MS have ditched blue in favour of green.

20110919-174806.jpg

20110919-174818.jpg

20110919-174833.jpg

After an initial setup, you’re presented with the familiar Explorer desktop. Everything looks a little less cluttered and the Start menu has been streamlined and doesn’t contain as much crap as before

At the moment I’m still finding my way around! Where’s my crap 🙂

20110919-175046.jpg

Here’s the new tablet mode which resembles Windows phone interface. It’s early days yet but I’m really liking it and the touch control is
miles better than on Windows 7 with the same netbook.

20110919-175305.jpg

20110919-175351.jpg

Here’s a quick video I did whilst messing around with the preinstalled apps.

iOS looks dated!

20110919-181049.jpg

20110919-181107.jpg

18 responses to “Microsoft Windows 8 – Preview running on my Acer 1825ptz.

  1. So far so good and am just finding my way around. My only criticism is that the’ve decided to use the Windows key to flip between desktop and metro interface. I’m so used to the windows key being used to expand the windows start menu as per other versions of windows, it’s a habit that’s going to be hard to break.

  2. I have tried to install into a new partition but it says can not find it. Do not want to delete acer partitions just in case, have you tried yourself?

  3. No, I didn’t watch to touch my original hard drive with Windows 7 installed so I swapped it with a spare blank 2.5″ Sata drive I had.

  4. Hello there, I’ll have to get back to you on that one. I haven’t tried it myself but will check tomorrow.

    Thanks

    StiGGy

  5. Yes, you’re quite correct, changing the brightness via Win8’s desktop control doesn’t work on my Acer too. I’m sure it’s only an early glitch though?

  6. Hey. nice post, I’ve been thinking of trying out windows 8 developer version as well, on my 1825. I got a question though. Did you need to manually install any software for the acer’s touchscreen afterwards? And does it support multitouch? Thanks for your post!

  7. Hey there Christopher thanks for your comments. I didn’t need to install any additional software for the touchscreen after installing Win8 developer version, and all worked pretty well including multi touch. The only thing i found not to be working is the auto orientation of the screen when in tablet mode. In other words, with Windows 7, if i held the netbook into portrait mode, the screen would flip to portrait orientation. It didn’t seem to do this with Windows 8.

    I haven’t tried the latest consumer release of Windows 8 so maybe they’ve fixed that? I plan to install is soon and see what’s been changed/improved.

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  8. Hi! Thanks for your quick review. I have a packard bell butterfly touch which should be the same as the Acer (more or less) and I did not get the auto orientation working. Brightness adjustment with the software menu (settings) works, but the Fn + arrow keys don’t work either. Do you have a solution for auto orientation yet? Would be an even better experience!

  9. Hey! Thanks for your review. I have a packard bell butterfly touch which should be the same as the Acer (more or less) and I did not get the auto orientation working. Brightness adjustment with the software menu (settings) works, but the Fn + arrow keys don’t work either. Do you have a solution for auto orientation yet? Would be an even better experience!

  10. Hey there. Those Butterflies are really nice machines!

    I haven’t looked at Win8 for a while now and couldn’t resolve the orientation issue with the beta I was using. However, I’ve not had chance to try the consumer preview version on my Acer yet (having problems creating a working bootable copy of the .iso via USB stick) but was going to try it this weekend. I’ll let you know.

    How are you liking Win 8 on your Butterfly? Does Metro work well?

    Kind regards

    StiGGy

  11. Hey StiGGy! Indeed I love my Butterfly and I have been waiting for Windows 8 to really make use of the touchscreen (with windows 7 it was disappointing). Win 8 Metro works great on my machine. Although the win store is still a little bit empty compared to the Android play store I expect it to be full all of the sudden after the official launch of Win 8. Can’t wait!

    As for the orientation issue: I expect that you and I need a win 8 driver for the G sensor, which I did not find yet. Hopefully you are more successfull. Please let me know if you find a solution.

    Kind regards from Amsterdam!
    Jacco

  12. Hey StiGGy! Indeed I love my Butterfly and I have been waiting for Windows 8 to really make use of the touchscreen (with windows 7 it was disappointing). Win 8 Metro works great on my machine. Although the win store is still a little bit empty compared to the Android play store I expect it to be full all of the sudden after the official launch of Win 8. Can’t wait! As for the orientation issue: I expect that you and I need a win 8 driver for the G sensor, which I did not find yet. Hopefully you are more successfull. Please let me know if you find a solution. Kind regards from Amsterdam!Jacco Date: Thu, 6 Sep 2012 12:16:52 +0000 To: jacco.de.vries@hotmail.com

  13. Hello again. I totally agree, Windows 7 is not a touchscreen O/S, it’s just a desktop O/S with added touch screen input . Clicking on a small ‘X’ to close a window might be ok with a mouse but certainly not a with a finger on a 11.6″ netbook screen 🙂

    The preview of Windows 8 certainly looked promising so I’m currently prepping a spare 2.5″ drive for swap out on my netbook and burning a Win 8 consumer preview DVD.

    I’ll let you know if the auto orientation works when i get chance to try it this weekend. Lets hope if it doesn’t they’ll be a driver along soon.

    Take care

    StiGGy

  14. Well i had ago with the latest Win8 build and as you’ve probably guessed the auto orientation still doesn’t work on my Acer. I guess only a minor thing but great of Acer release a driver in the future.

  15. Hey there, thanks for trying! I guess we both need to wait for the final release then.

    In the meanwhile, let’ s enjoy win8

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn Windows 8-pc

    Van: StiGGy’s Blog
    Verzonden: vrijdag 7 september 2012 17:53:25
    Aan: jacco.de.vries@hotmail.com
    Onderwerp: [New comment] Microsoft Windows 8 – Preview running on my Acer 1825ptz.

    WordPress.com stiggyworld commented: “Well i had ago with the latest Win8 build and as you’ve probably guessed the auto orientation still doesn’t work on my Acer. I guess only a minor thing but great of Acer release a driver in the future.”

Leave a Reply

