Classic gaming heaven with GOG.com

Although http://www.gog.com (good old games) has been online for quite sometime now, it’s a not a site I’ve visited before (I usually use visit Steam from time to time) but after a friends recommendation to check it out I’ve just spent the last hour or so pouring over their back catalogue of some damn fine classic PC games.ย  Not only have they got some great games, titles from yesteryear usually means lower system specs and perfectly suited to my Netbook…which again, i’ll state that i didn’t buy it for gaming but with such great titles on offer, it’s hard to resist ๐Ÿ™‚

Price wise, titles are on offer between ยฃ5.99 & ยฃ9.99 which is quite reasonable especially with most games being out of circulation unless you can manage to source copies on eBay. Although digital distribution means you won’t own a physical boxed copy (and in the case of many titles it’s a shame) I’ve been disappointed so many times when sourcing a classic game on eBay only to recieve a scratched unplayable CD.

Here’s a quick list of five titles I’ve just brought and looking forwarding to replaying some of them over the next week or so.

Interstate ’76

I nearly backflipped when I saw Interstate ’76 in the list of available games, it’s one of my all time favorites and can’t wait to take the ol orange Interceptor out for a spin again. Reading the support documentation, it might be a little tricky to get running properly on modern GFX cards but i’d buy it just for the funky soundtrack ๐Ÿ™‚

Under a Killing Moon.

Now this really is a blast from the past and one of the funniest graphic adventures i’ve ever played – complete with the dodgiest FMV video acting too. I see that GOG also have a few of the other ‘Tex Murphy’ adventures games. If they’re anywhere near as good at Under a killing Moon, I’ll definitely need to check those out too.

Total Annihilation

Command & Conquer was great but it was Total Annihilation that really introduced me to Real Time Strategy games. It’s such a fantastic game and GOG have even packaged it with the two expansion packs. I was a little reluctant to buy this title as I know that sleep may quickly become a thing of the past ๐Ÿ™‚

Freespace.

Not much to say about this apart from simply amazing!. I’ve not had this much fun battlingย  amongst the stars since Lucasart’s Tie Fighter. Currently dusting down my flight stick ๐Ÿ™‚

Icewind Dale.

GOG offer so many epic RPG games such as the classic Balders Gate and Morrowind I jusy don’t know where to start. In the end, I’ve picked Icewind Dale as I simply loved this game the first time it came out. D&D at it’s finest without hunting for those four sided dice ๐Ÿ™‚

…and as a freebie I’ve downloaded the brilliant 2d adventure game ‘Beneath a Steel Sky’. I haven’t played this since the Amiga version which still sits in my software cupboard. Thankfully this CD talkie edition means that I won’t have to spend hours swapping floppy disks ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy gaming!

 

2 responses to “Classic gaming heaven with GOG.com

  1. Love Gog.com as well, it’s great to see some of the classic DOS games getting some new life! And like you said so often what you get off of EBay is disappointing.

  2. Currently enjoying the Police Quest series again, what a blast from the past it is too!

Leave a Reply

