Commodore C64 XP Bliss.

Whilst I await delivery of a few items for my C64 ITX PC project, I’ve been playing around with various VICE64 emulator frontends & C64 themed boot screens for the PC o/s. I’ll be using Windows XP and although on bootup I plan to auto launch into the C64 emulator frontend, I thought it would be fun to create a wallpaper based on the original XP Bliss wallpaper and give it a C64 graphical look.

The first thing I did was to create a 16 colour palette for Photoshop based on the original C64 colours. I did this by  launching a  C64 game in Vice64 and taking a screenshot. Once I’d  loaded the screenshot in Photoshop I saved the color table for future use.

I then loaded the original XP Bliss Wallpaper in Photoshop.

Next, I rescaled the image to approx 50% height and 25% width (this would help to create a C64 blocky appearance when I rescaled the image to the correct proportions.

I then changed the original colours to that of the C64 by loading my presaved C64 color table.

All that remains was to rescale the image back. For this I rescaled to 200% height and 400% wide.

..and here we go – Commodore 64 XP Bliss!

Ugly isn’t it, but that’s exactly what I was looking for.

I have a few more ideas I’d like to try so I thought I’d jot them down here so that I don’t forget them!

Maybe have the C64 bliss gradually fade into the original XP Bliss picture

Add a ‘Commodore XP’ logo

Add a multicolour border similar to that of a C64 game loading screen.

Use the original XP Bliss wallpaper, but have a glass/transparent ‘C=’ logo in the middle of the screen with the C64 bliss wallpaper visable through the glass type font….or vice versa?

Create a photoshop border based on the original 1701/1702 colour monitor with the C64 bliss wallpaper shown on the screen.

3 responses to “Commodore C64 XP Bliss.

  1. this screen is completely awesome ! nice work. how come i never think of this stuff.
    i want to download this and use it for my geos 2.0 boot screen

  2. Wow, thanks very much for the feedback!

    I’ve actually found a few helpful tools out on the web that can help transform any photo into either the C64 or ZX spectrum palette without having to do it manually with Photoshop (wished I’d found these earlier 🙂

    I’ll be posting about these in the next day or so.

    Thanks for the visit!

    Take care

    StiGGy

Leave a Reply

