Christmas toys, my childhood favorites.

With Christmas day rapidly approaching, my thoughts go to the many happy Christmases I enjoyed as I child it got me thinking about all those amazing toys & games both me & my brothers received from Santa growing up in the late 70’s & 80’s.  Here’s a run down of my favorites received over the years thanks to Mum, Dad & of course the big man himself.

PowerTrack Race & Chase


My sister stood on the Corvette on boxing day & the headlights never lit again. Our Race and Chase set is still somewhere in my parents loft. Maybe after 30 years, I’ll get them working again?

LEGO – Space

Beta-1 Command Base, best present for me aged 7

I still have the ‘TV screen’ LEGO piece in my study drawer:-)

***************************************************************************************************

Kenner Star Wars Action Figures

Tauntaun – Complete with open belly slit for sticking all kinds of crap inside

Speeder Bike -I loved this one, and just like the TV commercial, spent many happy hours under the table with them.

Action Man – The moment he was taken out the box, his war started. He was buried in the garden many times by our family dog, lost a leg and then endured the pain of my dad ‘glueing’ it back on by melting the plastic with a soldering iron and the humiliation of being forced to attend my older sisters tea parties with her ‘Sindy’ dolls!

Commodore C64

Probably the best home computer I’ve ever owned. I have a confession, I actually knew that I was getting this for Christmas because I’d found it hidden in my parents wardrobe a few weeks before.  They never understood why I was so ill with excitement on Christmas Eve.

New Bike

What Christmas would be complete without a new bike? My first was a Raleigh Budgie & my favorite has to be the Raleigh Chopper

Boardgames

I think my list could go on & on here but some of my favorites were

Mouse Trap, Downfall, Ghost Castle, Lost Valley of the Dinosaurs, Hungry Hippos & Cluedo.

Annuals

Every year we would receive one or two book annuals. Mostly they were either the  Beano or Dandy but also Star Wars, Buck Rogers, 2000AD or Eagle.

Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

