HP TX1000 Repairs – part 1, the problem.

About a year ago I inherited a HP Pavilion TX1000 laptop to use at work. Not only was it very light,  small and feature rich it also had touch screen which could be rotated 180 degrees and used as a tablet PC. Great for reading PDF document in portrait mode and use the stylus to scroll down the pages.

IMG_4579 (1024x683)

IMG_4580 (1024x683)

I’d only had it for a few weeks until one day it stopped working altogether – typically about a month after the warranty ran out. When switched on, the fan would spin for about 5 secs, all power lights would light but that’s about it, just a blank screen.

Pretty lights but that’s about it!

IMG_4584 (1024x683)

IMG_4585 (1024x683)

Originally thinking the monitor was at fault, I tried with an external monitor connected but still no picture so I took it apart and checked all connecting wires & internal components. I tried everything but still wasn’t having any luck. My work place wasn’t interested in paying to have it repaired so I asked if i could have it rather than it going in the scrap pile. They agreed and I took it home for continue investigating the problem.

After researching the symptoms, it turns out that this is a VERY common problem with this model and the Internet is awash with complaints to HP. Apparently the cooling system fitted is woefully inadequate to stop the vNidia GPU chip from over heating, failing and basically killing the thing. The symptoms published were exactly the same as what I was experiencing so mystery solved.

I called a few local repair shops to see how much a new motherboard would cost or to see what repairs could be made. They ranged from £120 – £250 and due to the nature of the fault with this model, any repairs would only carry a three month warranty. At the time, I was looking to buy a small Netbook and thought, was it worth paying £250 for repairs on something that could fail again after only three months or would it be better to add another £100 and buy a brand new laptop.

My only other option was to see if i could buy a motherboard on eBay and fit it myself to save £££ but after 2 months of looking I gave up and the laptop has sat in my work drawer for the past year.

Damn shame, but time to call it a day:-(

IMG_4582 (1024x683)

…..that it until a few days ago when one link led to another and I found a rather neat little trick that might get it working again. A little research later and I found dozens of people who’d tried it on this particular model with great success. Well, I’ve got nothing to loose so I went about making a shopping list.

I would need –

  • Tin Foil
  • A penny (pre 1982 due to the copper content)
  • Acetone (or Cursties nail polish remover!)
  • Cardboard
  • Toothbrush
  • Silver Thermal Compound
  • Compound cleaner
  • A desk lamp
  • and…..Tomato sauce (I kid you not!).

Most of these, I already had so it was off to Maplins to pick up some Thermal compound.

Part two to follow tomorrow….How many screws

2 responses to “HP TX1000 Repairs – part 1, the problem.

  1. Pingback: Curstie’s laptop search is finally over and we have a winner! « Stiggy’s Blog

  2. HP Pavilion tx1000 has been giving me overheating issues. I have had the laptop repaired by the Geek Squad at Best Buy twice within my 2 year warranty and now my warranty recently expired and the laptop wont boot most of the time and the wireless adapter is not even being recognized. The Nvidia chip inside the laptop has a defect and is frying the computer. Please recall this product. So many customers are having this issue and the laptop cost me 1000 dollars with a 200 dollar 2 year warranty. Please listen to our petition and help us out.

    SIGN THE PETITION IF YOU FEEL THE SAME WAY:

    http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/hp_tx1000_problems/signatures?page=6

Leave a Reply

