Retro Computer Museum – Gaming Day

Today was the R.C.M gaming day, an event organised by the curator of a Retro Computer Museum  – http://www.retrocomputermuseum.co.uk/ I stumbled across their website a few months ago and have been really looking forward to getting my mitts on all the old computers/consoles I used to use, wanted to own or have never heard of. Being only a short drive away, I’ve had it marked on my calendar and have been counting down the days.

One such system I’m really keen to see was the Vector based console, the Vectrex, a system that seemed unlike any other home console produced. I was also looking forward to seeing the two M.A.M.E conversions on show and hopefully to get some of my questions answered about my own ongoing conversion.

So…up early this morning and breakfast with Curstie, watered the plants, checked/packed my camera gear, sat-nav  set and off I went…nearly forgetting to wave goodbye in all my excitement.

Although things didn’t kick off until 10:30am, the car park was almost full when I arrived around 10am. Luckily I was able to bag the last spot as the nearest car park was a good 10mins walk away.

The sheer number of computer systems on display was fantastic and the noise of classic games being played was pure nostagic. Nearly everyone was grinning ear to ear including myself.

Here’s a small selection of the 300 odd photo’s I’d taken and i’ll post a few more tomorrow.

IMG_2630 (683x1024)

A Cheetah 125+ Joystick sits on top of a Acorn Archimedes A3010. I must have gone through dozens of these fragile leaf switch joysticks with my Commodore +4 & C64 so to see (and play) with one today shows it must have been really looked after.

IMG_2628 (1024x683)

The Acorn Achemidias A3010 was running a copy of Lotus Turbo Esprit (you can see the option screen on the first photo) which is one of my favorite Commodore Amiga games. I had a quick go and must admit it blows the Amiga version out of the water. I got chatting with a bloke who sat next to me and wasn’t long before I was racing.

IMG_2684 (1024x683)

It turns out he’s was helping out by supply some of the equipment for the show and pointed towards his own custom Sinclair Spectrum +3. Note the IDE ribbon cable fitted to the rear port –  this was connected to a standard PC harddrive and with a bit of magic allowed him to store tons of  Spectrum game images that loaded within a few seconds.

IMG_2639 (683x1024)

This bartop MAME arcade machine has been built to really high standard. The joysticks used are the same i’m using for mine.  I has long chat with the owner and came away with a lots of info and his email address in case I have any further questions..another nice chap !!

IMG_2649 (683x1024)

I always wanted Astro Wars for Christmas as a child…I wondered if this was up for sale 🙂

IMG_2655 (1024x683)

Commodore Vic-20 – Commodore really did have a thing for Beige computers!

IMG_2652 (683x1024)

At last…been waiting ages to have a go on a Vectrex. About a hour later a queue was forming behind me. It didn’t disappoint, I’m seriously considering hunting one of these down on eBay.

IMG_2644 (1024x683)

Ah, the good old BBC Micro. Our Schools ‘IT dept’ consisted of just two of them but it was messing around with these early desktop computers that helpded shape my future career. Although, today it was all about Chuckie Egg!

IMG_2674 (1024x683)

Released in 1984, The Commodore SX64 was designed for the ‘executive on the move’. Weighing just over 10kg, I bet said executive needed to lie down a lot 🙂 an enhanced DX version, with twin floppy drives was said to have been produced in limited numbers and therefore incredibly collectible.

IMG_2675 (1024x683)

The Amstrad GX4000 home console. Not a bad 8-bit system but one released way too late in the game when 16-bit consoles were becoming popular. Why pay top dollar for  a game cartridge  essentially being an identical port of a standard Amstrad CPC-464 game that sells for next to nothing. Mr Sugar…you’re fired !!

I remember my local store selling them a few months after the initial release for the price of a Pizza just to get rid of them. Commodore tried to get into the console market too with the C64GS but likewise failed.

Today, I stopped by to have a quick go as a ‘Pang’ cartridge was loaded and ready for play. I’d forgotten how addictive this game was, although I still prefer the arcade original.

IMG_2722 (683x1024)

A couple of old PC’s had been setup for Lan gaming with Doom 2 and Heretic on offer.

IMG_2698 (1024x683)

An Atari 800XL, with Dropzone loaded. After loosing all my lives within a few minutes I loaded up Battlezone before anyone could see my low score:-)

IMG_2661 (1024x683)

IMG_2696 (1024x683)

This Amiga 500 was very popular playing endless rounds of Sensible Soccer.  I stopped by the Amiga 3000 for quick go on the classic shooter XenonII and later checked out some amazing graphical demos on a Amiga 4000.

IMG_2727 (1024x683)

One of the many tables set out with a wide variety of computers to play with.

IMG_2664 (1024x683)

A very nice clean Oric-1

IMG_2700 (1024x683)

Likewisrm a very pristine  Sega Sk-1100 keyboard which was an optional addon to the Sega SG-1000, a precursory to the Sega Master System.

IMG_2670 (1024x683)

Someones ZX Spectrum+ was over heating, unless it was from all the blokes drooling over it!

IMG_2690 (1024x683)

Commodore C64, ah happy days !!

IMG_2680 (1024x683)

Just a few of the many Atari consoles ready for use. Surprisingly though, I didn’t see many 2600 ‘woodys’ about.

More photo’s to follow tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

